Question: My 53 year old uncle was arrested for aggravated child molestation on a 13 year old in Georgia. What is he facing under Georgia law?
Answer: By committing aggravated child molestation, your uncle committed one of Georgia’s Seven Deadly Sins and he faces serious prison time. Under O.C.G.A. § 16-6-4, “A person commits the offense of aggravated child molestation when such person commits an offense of child molestation which act physically injures the child or involves an act of sodomy.”
Thus, in accordance with the Code (and §17-10-6.1), your uncle faces a mandatory minimum, 25 years in prison and up to life in prison. No portion of that 25 years can be suspended, stayed, deferred or probated meaning your uncle will not be eligible for parole before serving 25 years.
Moreover, while he’ll be at least 78 years old upon release if he only serves the mandatory minimum, under current law, your uncle will be on probation for life, be forced to register as a sexual predator for the rest of his life, which may severely limit his economic and social options and housing choices, and will be ineligible to vote.
Therefore, aggravated child molestation is a very serious and life-altering crime for both the victim and the accused. The consequences of a conviction are severe and life-long.
If you or someone you know have been accused of aggravated child molestation or any other sexual offense, please seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney in the area of sexual offenses. In Georgia, please contact The Boddie Law Group, LLC at 404-287-2393 for a complete and thorough consultation.
(c) 2014. The Boddie Law Group, LLC. All rights reserved. The information contained in this post is subject to our Disclaimer. Comments to this
blog are moderated.